Dre\’s Ramblings


Neon in B’ham: Luxury soon returns to former Cabana Hotel

07162006-neon-signs-003.jpg

The Cabana Hotel, formerly the Hotel Jefferson, was once one of the jewels of the Birmingham skyline. The building sits in the Fountain Heights neighborhood on a city block situated between 1st & 2nd Avenues North and 16th & 17th Streets North. This week the building will be going before the City of Birmingham’s Design Review Committee for approval of new signage. This will hopefully be the first step taken in plans to renovate the building. Leer Corporation’s plans call for the building to be converted into condominiums and renamed Leer Tower. The proposed elevations for the completed project can be seen on their website by clicking here. The building would be the latest conversion of space in Fountain Heights, home to Jemison Flats, the Phoenix Building Lofts, the Innovation Depot (a former Sears store; Innovation Depot Breaks New Ground for Birmingham Biotech, Birmingham Medical News) and countless others.

The image is of one of the signs that will be permanently removed as part of the renovations. It is currently located on the northeast corner of the building facing the Phoenix Lofts. Click here to see links to the series posted so far. Click here to view the photo gallery.

We’ll let you know what happens at the meeting later on this week.

Cheers.

P.S. Don’t forget to subscribe to the Ramblings, you can either click on the orange box at the top left of the page or e-mail subscription links to your left.

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I wonder if Leer will catch any flak at the meeting from the public, who seem to love the Cabana name. (It’s certainly more inviting than Leer, IMHO.)

I love the new header image! Also, I found another neon sign for you–Taj India on Highland has a beautiful little blue squiggle. So simple, so evocative.

Comment by Charles

So Leer is pursuing design review approval… did they settle the dispute with the company that claimed to have an option on the property?

Comment by Dystopos

I do not know for sure; I do not wish to assume anything. They could always be getting approvals to move the process forward after a decision is reached, but I suppose we’ll find out soon.

Comment by dresramblings

Spot on with this write-up, I really believe that this website needs a lot more attention.
I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

Comment by Child support compliance

You need to take part in a contest for one of the best websites on the net.
I most certainly will recommend this blog!

Comment by ราคาเครื่องซักผ้า

Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog in the
near future but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Comment by Cathleen

Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just
wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
Appreciate it!

Comment by refrigerator service

We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with useful information to work on. You’ve done a formidable task and our entire community will likely be grateful to you.

Comment by http://giantowner1121.newsvine.com/

Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to present one thing again and help others such as you aided me.

Comment by columbus moving services

I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your
blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so
people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful
lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could
space it out better?

Comment by www.youtube.com

naturally like your website however you have to take a
look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of
them are rife with spelling problems and I
to find it very bothersome to tell the reality then
again I’ll certainly come again again.

Comment by chinese education

Hi! My partner and I frequently publish guest articles for other blog
owners to help gain exposure to our work, as well as provide terrific content to site owners.
It truly is a win win situation! If you’re interested feel free to contact me at: tiffani-christman@gmail.com so we may communicate further. Appreciate it!

Comment by refrigerator service

It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS
feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this website with my
Facebook group. Talk soon!

Comment by Arlie




Leave a Reply

