Dre\’s Ramblings


So, how do you celebrate two years of blogging?

I’m not quite sure where the time’s gone. I really didn’t even realize it until I started making the first major changes to the site in months. Somewhere between beginning to transfer posts from this account to a self-installed version of the site, I was immediately reminded that Saturday was two years since I first decided to join the blogosphere. As always, here’s the obligatory link to the first post.

This year has been a crazy one for me, with the death of my grandmother and the decision to go off on my own and launch a website. Both have definitely affected how I view the world and have made me appreciate those that can continuously burn a candle at both ends. In many respects, I guess I’ve accomplished the intent of the 101 in 1001 list (already moved to the new site), to get out of the comfort zone and push the limits. I just hope I’m not pushing too hard.

Realizing that it’s been two years also made me realize that it’s been a long time since I’ve posted regularly. Though I will probably never post at that insane level that I did last summer on this blog, I do intend a slow but steady return to doing this more personal site. Plus, I’ve gotten a lot of grief about not putting up a picture in the about us section. We’re in the process of moving to a new site, so I’ll save you from that (not really). Here’s a shot that Bob Farley took for use in an upcoming online magazine article about The Terminal.

Andre on the roof

Speaking of the hub, this link will take you to a submission form that allows you to submit questions for the 2007 mayoral candidates here in Birmingham. It’s my intention (with my now growing staff) to ask the candidates these questions soon and share them with you. Some will be asked to all of them while others will be asked to specific ones. You get to decide who as well. I’m determined to make this more about using the medium as a tool to inform even if it’s become one that leans towards making sure that one’s opinion will reign down on you and you must agree. I’ll keep you posted.

I’ll also take a moment to thank those of you who’ve still stopped by the check on the site and those that are supporting The Terminal. It’s definitely been an interesting journey so far and I’m looking forward to more adventures in the coming year.

Cheers.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

please post the link to the online article about The Terminal when it’s published.

Comment by megabeth

Congrats on 2 years! Don’t forget that sweet article in Bham Mag this past month…

Comment by Wade

Happy 2nd anniversary of blogging! I have really appreciated your blogging and it has pushed me to try to get back in the habit of doing more writing. Good job!

Comment by Elaine

Hi. I wanted see this great blog again. Kiss 😀

Comment by smallstar




Leave a comment